Marriage License: What it Is and How to Get it
Marriage License: What it Is and How to Get it

Marriage License: What it Is and How to Get it

We write about divorce so much that it is nice to switch gears and discuss marriage and everything it entails. At the top of that list is the all-important marriage license. But what is a marriage license, and how can we get one?

A marriage license is a legal document issued by a state authority that authorizes a couple to marry. It is required that you have this important piece of paper before participating in a ceremonial marriage, and the state in which a couple gets married holds the marriage record. That said, the “union” is recognized across the country.

The following people can get a marriage license in Texas:

  • Adults – any person who is 18 or older.
  • Minors — as long as they have been emancipated, also known as having the disabilities of minority removed for general purposes. To read more about minors and marriage, visit Texas Law Help.

Conversely, the following people cannot get a license to marry in Texas:

  • Related applicants – ancestor, sibling, uncle/aunt, niece/nephew, first cousin, stepchildren, son/daughter.
  • Currently married applicants – unless it is a couple wishing to renew their wedding vows.
  • The recently divorced – must wait 30 days without good cause. Divorced spouses can remarry at any time.

How Can We Get Our Marriage License?

Denton County’s website is an excellent source for instructions and requirements to secure your marriage license. But here is a brief overview: To apply, a couple must appear at the county clerk’s office, provide proof of identity and age, complete and sign the application form, and take an oath. If one applicant cannot appear personally, there are additional procedures.

The fee for a marriage license is $82, but it can be lowered to $22 if couples take a state-approved marriage class.

After issuance, there is a 72-hour waiting period until the license becomes valid.

An important note is that marriage licenses can and do expire if the ceremony has not been held within 89 days from its issuance. Again, Denton County has more specific details on its marriage license page if you have additional questions.

Call Nelson Law Group today!!

We are huge proponents of the sanctity of marriage, and we genuinely believe that the grass is always greener where you water it. With that said, if you are headed toward divorce, you need a trusted advisor in your corner every step of the way. We know the law, but more importantly, we are invested in you and your family — before, during, and after divorce.

Give our knowledgeable staff here at Nelson Law Group, PC, a call if you have any further questions regarding this or any other issue. Our staff is always available. Give us a call today! For more information about Brett A. Nelson, click here.

The post Marriage License: What it Is and How to Get it appeared first on Family Law, Divorce, Personal Injury in Texas.

Source: Nelson Law Group